Differences

June 5, 2008 at 10:22 pm (blogging, myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life)

I had a conversation today with someone that sort of hurt my feelings/got me thinking. They asked why I hadn’t found a job yet, and I explained that I stopped looking because I’ll be having a surgery soon and I think it’s pointless to start a job if I’m just going to have to take a leave of absence/quit it for the surgery.

They thought that I should look anyway, because I could get a couple weeks in at the new job. I still think it would be rude to get a job, tell them I’m unable to work because I’ll be having a surgery, and then have them have to hire someone else. That’s if they hire me in the first place. Most places won’t hire you if they know you won’t be able to work solidly because it’s too much of a hassle. When my sister was looking for a job she had to tell every potential employer that she was getting married and going on a honeymoon for a couple of weeks. The places didn’t hire her because what’s the point in hiring someone who can’t work?

But still, this person hurt my feelings. They said that another person had been chatting with them about my job situation, and that they agree that I should get a job and work anyway. I was miffed at this point, and told them to walk a day in my shoes and come back with what they discovered. Of course, this angered them and the conversation ended. I was trying to get them to see it from my point of view; places don’t hire you unless they know you’ll be able to work the required term. Meaning if I was seeking summer full time employment, they would only hire me if I could work the entire summer full time. If I needed time off for a surgery, they wouldn’t hire me because they would just need to hire someone else to take over.

I find it difficult to explain myself to family and friends because I always feel like I’m just complaining by stating my opinion on things. Truthfully, I have been looking for a job and sending out resumes like crazy. Job Bank has been the top visited site by me in the last month. A lot of jobs require you to have transportation and I license – which I lack. This makes getting a job even more difficult. I was hoping the local retail store would hire me, but I haven’t heard back from them. I haven’t had much experience – or any actually – in retail. I have 2 years worth of experience in costumer service, but none in retail. This sort of puts a damper on applying at retail stores, who prefer it if you have retail experience.

So I’m stressed out about money, and about school. I still don’t have any clue what I’m going to do. I’m waiting to hear back about Office Admin, and I think the Journalism program I applied for and got accepted into has revoked their offer as I never replied back to them. Gah!

Anyways, I’m looking forward to next year. My pen pal, Mandy, and I are planning on actually getting together. I want to go visit her in her home town, because it’s apparently really nice there. I haven’t seen her since grade 7, so it would be nice to see her again.

3 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    That person obviously doesn’t have much experience having to look for a job, or if they had then they’ve been really lucky because you are right. Places aren’t going to hire someone who they know will have to quit/take time off for a surgery, especially if it’s a temporary position like a summer job anyway.
    Personally I think you are better off just getting the surgery and worrying about work after you get what you really need taken care of. I know how hard it is to have a lack of money, but you need the surgery more then you need the hassles of working without a license and transport.
    I’ll let you in on a little secret, the other day I was signing up for classes for fall semester and I was seriously questioning my ability to get my BS in biology. I thought, i could just go into libral arts or social sciences and it would be SO much easier. So yea, even though I say I’ve figured it out I still sometimes wonder if I’m doing the right thing because I LOVE so many things (like writing and anthropology). So know that no matter what you decide to do there will be moments until you graduate where you wonder if you really want to go down this path.

  2. Connie said,

    It must be so much more difficult being young and having medical problems. I’m sorry you have to deal with ignorant people. You handled it the right way. Who is this “friend” to be deciding about what you should be doing with your life anyway?

  3. Jessica said,

    Sarah – You’re right, but at this point I’ve decided to look for a job as I haven’t heard back from the hospital. Hopefully my potential employers will understand, especially if I can get in a lot of hours before the surgery and have extended understanding afterwards (for example, more sit down breaks without people freaking out). My visa bill is calling to me!

    Connie – My sisters actually. They often decide about what I should do with my life 🙂 lol. I deal with ignorant people every day, or so it seems…and it is slightly frustration because A LOT of people think I’m faking or using my medical condition as a crutch, which is NOT the case at all. Sigh, it’s the world we live in though.

Leave a Reply

