Back to Square One

June 5, 2008 at 3:08 am (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, reflecting, worries/concerns)

Now originally I had a lot to discuss in this post, however this page has literally taken 10 minutes to load and my back is already killing me. I don’t think I can make it as long as I had intended to, so we have dialup to thank for that! One day I will get high speed, one day. I don’t understand why they don’t just make high speed for rural areas in Canada. I know Bell has it available for the States. How hard is it to make it available for rural areas in Canada if it’s already available in the rural areas of the States?

Anyways, I’m rambling. I tend to do that when I’m sore…so yes, I ramble a lot. But anywho, I’m back to square one with the whole educational pursuit. Originally I had accepted the offer into the local community college for the Child and Youth Worker program. However I recently realized that although I would make a good, attentive Child and Youth Worker, I don’t have that mental strength that is required when being a Child and Youth Worker to put a line between work and home. When working with troubled children and youth, there is a risk that you might not always be able to help someone. Or their cases and situations are far too horrible. I definitely am not the kind of person who can leave that sort of thing in the office, I would surely bring everything home with me and that would definitely reek havoc on my family life and even mental health.

So now what? Well I’ve always wanted to do Journalism. It’s no surprise that I’m deeply passionate about writing (or at least I hope it’s no surprise!) and everything about the Journalism program appealed to me. Everything. There wasn’t one thing that I didn’t like! My dream job has always been to be a well known and well published writer, and I have several plot books and started novels to prove it!

Unfortunately, Journalism is now wait-listed. I’m now on the wait-list, and the Admissions Officer assured me that it had only recently been wait-listed, which means that there should only be a small handful of people on the list.

If I don’t get in to Journalism in September, then I do have a backup. I’ve applied for the February start of Office Administration, the same course that my sister Kate took. That job definitely leads to other branches that I could go in to, and there is money there. Although it wouldn’t be the job of my dreams it would still be something I wouldn’t despise doing.

So now all I can do is wait, and kick myself for being so indecisive and not knowing what I want and who I was earlier. I could have already accepted the Journalism offer and not be on the wait-list. Now I just have to wait and see, and keep my fingers crossed.

I’m still jobless; and haven’t even gotten a call back for any of the resumes I sent out 😦 it definitely kicks ya in the ego. I used to think I had an impressive resume! Now I guess it turns out I don’t really 😦

And in unrelated news, Matt’s birthday was yesterday and he said he had a blast. His mom took us both out for lunch at Kelsey’s, and it was pretty good. He loved his shoes that I bought him (and refuses them to wear them since they have more white than his last pair) and the little birthday dinner/cake party we throw for him also made his day. He got two cakes!! Yum. Lucky boy! Now my birthday is next; 11 more days! Then I will be 19! I’m looking forward to that, and to my weekend in London with my cousins and Matt. That should be fun too!

Unfortunately my back is aching something fierce so I’m going to go to bed early tonight since I left the really awesome back stuff Gordon gave me at Matt’s house 😦 I wanted Matt and Colleen to try it, because it definitely helped my muscles relax. I forget what it’s called; it’s sort of like Rub A535, but better…way better.

Hopefully the back pain medication my mom found will work tonight so I can get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

