Another Chance

April 23, 2008 at 4:19 am (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, reflecting, worries/concerns)

I finally called my new doctor and booked an appointment for May 27th. I figured since he hadn’t made the initiative to set up another checkup appointment when I saw him for the first time in August last year, I might as well do it. He had probably long ago forgotten about me.

With MHE, it’s important to keep having yearly check ups to keep an eye on everything since sometimes the tumors can become cancerous, which is why even after you have finished growing your doctors want you to continue to have yearly checkups.

I have a list of demands to be meet this time around, and hopefully I’ll be able to get something out of this new doctor…since when I met him last year he seemed very nonchalant. Anyways, here goes the list:

  • I want to get my hips checked out since they keep locking/poping/dislocating or something, and it’s quite painful. I want to see if the joints are wearing out or something, and if there is anything to do to prevent that from happening.
  • I want him to check out my ankles; as they too lock up a lot and I’m worried they might be starting to fuse.
  • I want to discuss possibly resetting my ankles. They aren’t in alignment with my knees and I once had an OT warn me that if I didn’t get that fixed, my feet and ankles would collapse. That doesn’t sound like fun to me.

The reason why I usually hold back on talking to anybody about my aches and pains really is because I don’t want to sound like a complainer, because that’s not what I’m intending to do. But I am starting to realize that the longer I keep quiet about things, the worse it ends up being for me in the end…like in grade 8 when I didn’t tell anybody about the tumor in my right leg that was causing me a lot of pain. It ended up cutting off the nerves and I almost loss the use of that leg. Things like that happen to me with silence, so I don’t want to be quiet anymore.

I’ve had some doctors act as if when I told them what wasn’t right that I was simply complaining, so next time this happens I will tell them off. Not rudely or anything, but firmly…should it not be my right to get the medical attention I feel I need in order to make things easier? I think that if my ankles and hips were all fixed, I’d enjoy walking more. I could get more active…maybe start horse back riding or hiking or something.

I want to be more active. I’m sick of discreetly babying myself by hiding behind the “I’m too lazy to go with you guys for that walk” excuse when really I just know that I’ll end up paying for it later. I’m not a lazy person, I just don’t have the energy to deal with more pain that a simple 15 minute walk can bring.

2 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    I hope this doctor works out for you. If it had been me and he had acted nonchalantly I would have smacked him in the face, but then again I’m told I’m a bit of a violent person.
    But yeah, definetely speak up about your pain, no matter how many times you are told that you are being complain-y. You shouldn’t have to suffer and its not right for people to just assume that you are complaining, when they have no idea what kind of pain you could be in. But sometimes people suck.
    Well, I hope this next doctor visit goes well for you, I will be hoping that you get everything on your list accomplished.

  2. Jessi said,

    Sarah: I hope he works out for me too. I think that if I smacked him in the face, it really wouldn’t have helped my situation LOL! People do sometimes suck, well most of the time anyways lol! I hope I get everything on my list accomplished too!

Leave a Reply

