Of Heat Pads and Flannel PJs

December 18, 2007 at 11:12 pm (blogging, myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, working)

Whenever winter comes, icy pain follows. Each year is a struggle to keep pushing forward through the knee high drifts of snow. Continuing on with my daily life is actually a lot harder then I let on…because I hate feeling weak and vulnerable. Sometimes though, I wish I was a bear so I could sleep through winter in a nice, warm den surrounded by food. Hey, don’t we all? For those of you who don’t have the pleasure of living in either Canada or the upper states, then you don’t know just how bad snow sucks. Sure, it’s gorgeous. Sure, winter activities are fun – like sledding and skiing and snowmobiling – but I pay the price of moving 10x slower than I normally do.

In my attempts to keep warm, I surround myself with heat pads, warm blankets and flannel PJ’s. I like to hide under my blankets with a good book, or sit in front of a fire (which I would do more often if I had a fireplace). But the second I have to go outside to actually get somewhere to actually do something, well…all those attempts just flush down the toilet and I’m suddenly freezing cold and very sore.

But weather complaints aside, my weekend has been going ok – except for the fact that I may have re-cracked a couple more discs in my back. Yup. Thank you heavy lifting at work. Love it. Only 5 more shifts of work to go before I’m finished and able to move to my cousin’s place.

…guess I should start packing eh?

Well I’m off to hide under my covers again…and maybe start packing. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

