Week Without Violence

October 18, 2007 at 12:24 am (blogging, for a cause, opinions, real life)

week without violence

For those of you who weren’t aware, we are right in the middle of The YMCA Week Without Violence. This week is dedicated to preventing violence.

Violence comes in all shapes in sizes, to name a few there are physical violence, emotional violence, and self violence. Obviously, Week Without Violence is dedicated more so to the physical aspect of violence, but I have been considering all types.

I told myself that this week, I would avoid getting mad and yelling at anybody. I told myself that I would not think negatively about myself, because I commonly do that. It is a lot harder then it looks to not get mad at superficial things. If something bugs you, it bugs you. You tend to get mad. Luckily, I’ve never gotten physically violent when I’m mad. I tend to clam up and not talk about what’s really bugging me. I always seem to loose my words!

Tomorrow I am attending a lecture that is all about preventing violence. No quiz, no pressure, just attending a lecture on healthy ways of dealing with anger. I think everyone would benefit from attending a lecture such as this one. I don’t mean to speak for the world, but I know that when I’m really mad about something, I tend to snap at people. That isn’t acceptable. I strongly support this cause because there are a lot of people out there who deal with their anger in really bad ways, and making this known is one step to stopping it. If everybody learned healthier ways, then there wouldn’t be as much abuse. I know this may not be completely true; these are simply my thoughts on the matter.

I have a question for all of you guys out there; what do you do when you get mad about something? How do you act? How to you treat others around you?

Leave a Reply

