Aches and Pains

October 12, 2007 at 2:53 pm (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, worries/concerns)

My left leg is aching something fierce today. I have my self to thank for this though; yesterday was chilly and I decided to wear my green mini skirt with black leggings (since I’m uncomfortable with just wearing skirts). When I left for class, it honestly wasn’t all that chilly out, but by 5:45pm it was freezing and windy like you wouldn’t believe it! After class, I had to wait 10 minutes with two classmates who wanted a quick smoke as one of them had offered to drive me home and I really didn’t feel like taking the bus.

So I am paying for it today, and I know the cold jeans I will be wearing won’t help my situation. When it’s cold out, my bones can easily get a chill. That’s what has happened to my left leg. My right leg for some reason does not have the chill, but I suppose this is good because my knee has been killing me lately. The tenants pop every time I walk up the stairs, so I have been taking the elevator more and more lately. I always hate taking the elevator because people always give me weird looks since I don’t look like I need to take the elevator and the elevator is only for people with medical disabilities who have special permission.

Luckily, one of my friends also has special permission to take the elevator as she has a very bad back so I don’t feel too stupid taking it. She sort of has to pep talk me into it. I really dislike being a waste of elevator space! Not that many people actually take the elevator anyway, and I do only use it for the huge staircase to the cafeteria.

Anyway, there isn’t a whole lot for me to do about the chill at the moment. When I get home from class, I plan on smothering it in heat rub or with a heat pack. That’s what I do when I have aches and pains. I don’t take Tylenol or Advil anymore: it’s pointless for what I need it for, and I don’t want to rely on heavier medications. Nobody wants to be heavily medicated all of the time, even if they should or have to be.

Luckily though, today is Friday. This means I get a two day break from walking around the huge college. I don’t, however, get a break from all the studying and assignments I have to do; next week is midterms. Gulp. So far, I haven’t needed to take advantage of extra time, but lately my wrist has been killing me and even if I type it hurts. Perhaps I will need to talk to the teachers, I just hope they will be able to allow me the time – I know you are supposed to inform them weeks ahead of time.

1 Comment

  1. philosophyoflife said,

    Your lecturers should be understanding given your condition and would advise to do this at the earliest opportunity.

    Good luck with your studies and with your blog.

Leave a Reply

