Close Call

October 10, 2007 at 2:44 pm (blogging, helpful tips, myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, reflecting, story telling, worries/concerns)

As I’ve previously mentioned, I recently got a job at a group home. Yesterday, I went to the main office and filled out a heck of a lot of paperwork. I also got to talk to the house manager of the home I will be working in. When she called me a couple weeks ago, she gave me my shifts for practically all of October and November. Unfortunately, I was scheduled to work for the very important Rock Band Blitz fundraiser that I’m helping to plan and run on November 3rd. They had me scheduled to work from 8am-3pm and then a night sleep (1opm-8am). Night sleeps are [from what I’ve heard] really easy. You sleep from 10pm until 6am and get up to help get all the kids ready for their day. Anyways, with those two shifts I definitely wasn’t going to be able to make it to the Rock Band Blitz fundraiser. I’ve been eagerly anticipating this practically all year. I didn’t get to go last year since they held it at a very dingy place, so this was my year to help make it amazing.

Anyways, so I spoke to the house manager and explained why I needed it off. She found someone to cover my night sleep, so I am now able to go to the fundraiser!

I also told her that I had been looking forward to going to a family “get together” on October 27th (my sister is throwing a Halloween party and everybody in our family is invited basically so that wasn’t a lie) and she generously found someone to take both shifts for me so I can now go. The only downer part is I work at 8am on the 28th – so I won’t get to stay for a long time. I will need my sleep. Oh well. At least I will get to show off my super awesome costume!

I still haven’t talked to the house manager about the amount of shifts I have a feeling they will schedule me for. I did say during the mock shift that I knew I was responsible for balancing schoolwork with my shifts – but it completely slipped my mind that I would have to balance schoolwork, shifts, and health concerns. Ok, well truthfully I did think about it but I didn’t tell her at the time because I was worried she wouldn’t hire me. Why would you hire someone who couldn’t work a million shifts in a week and who may have some health problems and end up calling in sick a couple times?

I will probably end up making myself sick as I worry about getting sick. I don’t want to ruin this opportunity. I have a feeling I am going to love the job and the people there…it’s just the whole health thing. My mom voiced her concerns the other day that she was worried I would be taking on too much, and that I would end up really sick from burning out. Needless to say, it has happened before.

Several times. Too many to count.

I ended up missing so much school because I was too sick and sore to even get out of bed. She’s afraid that will happen again. I suppose it is likely, but I don’t like that thought. I know I need to take it slow, but I don’t want to lose my job. I lost my job at Wendy’s because I was taking it slow – too slow for them.

How pathetic is it that I am worrying about loosing my job due to a medical problem? The house manager does know that I have this problem, but I wasn’t exactly 100% honest when I said I could still do all that they asked of me. I wasn’t counting on them asking me to do so many shifts. I was under the impression it was a less then 15 hours a week job.

I suppose I will just have to wait and see how things go. Maybe I am worrying about nothing; perhaps I won’t find the shifts physically demanding at all. After all, I am required to do less then I did at my summer student job during the summer and I didn’t really find that physically demanding (except for the camping weekends).

4 Comments

  1. Kyla said,

    I hope it works out. I think I’d test the waters, working the shifts they ask initially…but keep a close eye on how you are feeling and if it starts to wear on you, speak up. Don’t work yourself into a bout with illness.

  2. JC said,

    I hope it works out too Kyla, thanks for the advice, I will definitely follow!

  3. Connie said,

    Don’t be like me, the over-achiever! Just like Kyla said, speak up if it’s getting to be too much for you before you get sick please 🙂

  4. JC said,

    I just don’t like disappointing people Connie, but I will try to speak up!

Leave a Reply

