Someone Special

October 9, 2007 at 2:03 pm (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, reflecting, story telling)

I saw a meme on A Mother’s Love and just had to steal the idea. I decided now is the time to introduce my boyfriend and the important role he plays in my life. The meme was technically for married people, so I’m not going to do it, but I will still tell you ALL about him.

We met at the week long camping trip last year that I always go on with the recreational group for the developmentally handicapped. It was Neil’s first year at camp, and it was my first time meeting him even though he had been coming out to volunteer for months. I missed out on all of the wilderness weekends because I was still recovering from my surgery, so I didn’t meet him until that week long.

Neil noticed me first. I vaguely knew who he was as one of the female volunteers had a thing for him and always talked about him. I was dating my ex at the time, and, like usual, was more focused on the members then hooking up with people. I didn’t (and technically never have) do camp hook ups. Neil was still persistent in getting my attention. He even came up to me on the 3rd day to introduce himself. He said “Hi, I’m Neil”, and I said “So?” 😀 haha.

After the members were all asleep, I went to the volunteer meeting that is held every night in the dining hall. We talk about what happened that day, and whats going to happen tomorrow, and shared funny stories of the day. After the meeting was over, I went to make a quick phone call to my then boyfriend. I was disappointed to hear that he sounded less then excited to hear from me, and all he did was try to rush me off the phone. After we hung up, I ended up walking around camp alone until I literally ran into Neil and a couple other volunteers.

After that night, we hung out every chance we got (after the members were in bed). It was very cold up North, so often we would sit very close to each other near a fire to keep warm. Long underwear and two sweaters wasn’t enough to beat the cold. Over that week, I got to know Neil.

I remember clearly one night when we were lying on the hammock. We were snuggling because it was really freezing out, and to my surprise he was a great snuggler. He confessed that he liked me – a lot, and I told him I returned the feelings, but that I was dating someone and didn’t want to cheat because cheating is disrespectful. I also told him that I didn’t want to be just a “camp fling”. He respected my feelings and continued as we were – just cuddle buddies. On the second last night however, he attempted to kiss me. Although I would have loved to kiss him right then and there, I stuck by my morals and craftily avoided it by turning my head ever so slightly.

Throughout the rest of the week, I had been trying to get a hold of my ex so I could call things off because I really liked Neil and he treated me 10x better then my then boyfriend did. However, he wasn’t answering my phone calls. On the first night that we got back, I finally got a hold of him. But he didn’t even give me a chance to talk – nor did he ask me about my week or tell me he missed me. He just said his friend was over and he had to go, then he hung up on me.

I didn’t have time to worry about it because I left on a mini vacation with my friend Merina. Throughout that mini vacation, Neil and I texted each other. I found I missed him more then I missed my boyfriend. Through text messaging, I told him that a mutual friend of ours said he didn’t have the greatest track record and that I wasn’t interested in becoming just a hook up, and he told me that’s not what he wanted me as. He wanted me to be his girlfriend but he would settle as being my friend if I still wanted to stay with then boyfriend.

When I got back from the mini vacation, then boyfriend and I had a messy breakup. I would have been just fine with hearing “it’s not working out JC, lets go back to being friends”, but instead he gave me an entire list of reasons why, and they infuriated me. One of the reasons that made me most angry was that I “couldn’t physically keep up with him and wasn’t able to enjoy the contact sports and things that he was”. It helped that I was already over him though, and I didn’t waste too much time thinking about it. I called Neil not even 10 minutes after getting off the phone with him, and told Neil I was now single. He asked me out. I said yes.

And that’s the story of how we met.

n517317864_110890_1404.jpg

Neil; dressed in a dress. What happens at camp, stays at camp.

 

n517317864_38280_6436.jpg

Neil & I volunteering at a fundraiser for the recreational group.

 

n517317864_12760_3517.jpg

He made both my semi-formal and my prom memorable nights.

n517317864_56171_4868.jpg

He would walk through fire as easily as he walks through water for me.

 

n517317864_56191_6943.jpg

So cute!

So you now know the story of how we met and how our relationship came to be. What you don’t know is how much he means to me, and how much I must mean to him.

Neil is my first boyfriend to not walk on eggshells around me. He rough houses with me, but he’s still gentle. He hates hospitals, but in August of this year he came with me to my doctors appointment. Even though I told him he didn’t have to come, he came. I knew that if I were to have a surgery, he would be there for me and wait on me hand and foot. He has ridden in an elevator with me, even though he is terrified of elevators.

He is the first guy I know to actually have goals and dreams, and he doesn’t do drugs. He is passionate about his music and he plays the guitar and drums like a pro. He has written me several songs which he always plays for me and they always bring a smile to my face. He has an amazing work ethic and works hard.

My pain is his pain; I remember one occasion when my foot cramped up (and that always hurts A LOT) and he sat there for nearly an hour rubbing it better and then he went and got me a hot pack to keep it warm. All the while he was visibly upset. He told me that my pain and tears made him sad because he hates to see them.

He cuddles me close when my bones or sore and tells me he wishes there was something more he could do; he doesn’t know that just by cuddling me he makes things a lot better. He thinks I am beautiful and he treats me like a queen. I have only been in two “serious” relationships before him, and both guys treated me like crap. I didn’t know it at the time until I met him, and he showed me how I should have been treated.

Neil is the most caring, loving person I know. He always tries to make the right decisions and please everybody around him. He loves to make me laugh and smile; and does so on a regular basis. You can judge a man on how he treats others; and I knew he was the one for me when I saw him volunteer at that recreational group. He loves the members just as much as I do, and only goes because of them. Heck, he wore a dress this year to make everybody laugh!

I could go on forever about Neil, but I think this is good enough. He is my rock, my pain killer, and my knight in shining amour. He is part of that support group that keeps me going, and I’m grateful for having been given the chance to be with such an amazing guy.

1 Comment

  1. More Major Players « A Medical Mystery said,

    […] 11th, 2007 by JC A couple days ago I spoke about someone very special to me. But he isn’t the only special person in my life; in fact there are several! I want to […]

Leave a Reply

