Closer to Finding Out Who I Am

October 8, 2007 at 10:30 pm (blogging, family, myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, reflecting, story telling)

As most of you know, I am in the Social Service Program at my college. I am taking a lot of interesting classes, and I am proud to report that I am learning a lot about myself.

I now know who I’m not, who I was, and who I know I could be.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, and I truly believe that life is 10% of what happens and 90% of your reaction. That’s why some people are great with handling stressful, difficult situations and others aren’t so great at handling stressful, difficult situations.

I believe that I could be a completely different person then I am today, all depending on if I choose to react differently to a situation. Such as having a medical disability, and having lots of surgeries. But I am happy and content with the person I am. I’m glad that I am able to handle stressful, difficult situations and learn from them. I’m glad I am able to grow as a person after learning a lesson.

I have had my fair share of medical woes, as well as “normal” teenage woes. I have good days in which nothing can knock my spirits down, and I have bad days…in which it gets harder to be untouchable. Some days in this very blog I may sound more down then up, but know that I am learning from this.

I get confused when people don’t express their emotions; we were given such a broad use of them, why hide what you feel? Several people argue that blogging about how you feel is just a cry out for attention. I disagree. I blog about what I feel, what I know, and what I learn because not only does it help me but it helps those around me. I know not everyone agrees with what I have to say, and I’m fine with that; after all, I don’t agree with what everyone else always has to say. I have opinions that differ and I understand that so does everyone else.

So this blog is really 10% what I say, and 90% what you take away from it.

2 Comments

  1. Kyla said,

    This was great! Very well said.

  2. JC said,

    Thank you Kyla 🙂

Leave a Reply

