It’s Official!

October 4, 2007 at 1:42 am (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, reflecting, resources)

I got the phone call today from the group home asking if I wanted to be a part of their team. I said yes! On Tuesday, I have to go to the main office to fill out some paper work. I won’t begin my actual training shits until the 22nd of October. Unfortunately I work all of reading week, except for the Thursday. I don’t see there being anything too strenuous about this job; as third support staff, I only have to help assist with mealtimes, getting people ready, and some hygiene. I won’t be asked to do anything major, and most of my job will be being the extra hand. I’ll probably do the laundry and housework, since someone has to do it and the first and second support staff are busy handling bigger things. So we will see how this job treats my body.

I’ve been pretty busy lately. I put off doing my social services reflection paper that’s due tomorrow, but luckily it was easy and I finished it in no time at all. I hope I get a good mark though. Now I have to focus on the Aboriginal History of My Childhood Home assignment which is due next week. I have a skill assessment in Helping Relationships tomorrow at 2:30, so that will be interesting. I don’t feel like I’m ready yet; I’m still asking the wrong questions and fidgeting too much. Oh well. At least it will be out of the way, then the next 2 weeks I won’t have to go to class because other groups will be doing their skill assessments. I can actually have more homework time, which I will try to spend on homework, not Facebook.

And it is Thanksgiving this weekend! I’m going home and won’t be back to my apartment until Monday evening at some point! Which makes me think I should really get on researching the town I grew up in for it’s aboriginal history..since I know the connection at my house sucks. I have wireless high speed at the apartment, but back home it’s still dial-up. Get out of the stone age, Mom and Dad!

I have been thinking about another assignment as well; in my Aboriginal Community Development class, we have to run a seminar on a topic of our choice – so long as it is related to aboriginal community development. My group choose traditional medicines, and my part of it is going to be: chronic pain/depression and using aboriginal traditional medicines; the benefits and the disadvantages of using it to heal. It’s opened up a new idea for me, and that is actually trying aboriginal traditional medicines to help with my chronic pain. It’s natural, so what harm can it do? Like I said, anything is worth a try!

2 Comments

  1. Connie said,

    Congrats on the new job! And Happy Thanksgiving JC. Enjoy your time with your family.

  2. JC said,

    Thank you Connie! Happy Thanksgiving to you as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

