Sometimes, Skipping Class Is Healthy

October 2, 2007 at 7:50 pm (blogging, helpful tips, myself & I, rambling, real life, reflecting, story telling)

I think we all need to play hokey occasionally, just to stay sane. There are so many demands to be met in one day that it can be overwhelming – or at least that’s how I’m feeling, so I decided not to go to my 4pm class. I feel guilty about it, but I know that I could use the time to catch up on some much needed sleep and get started on some assignments that are due this week.

I have a feeling that the group work will be the death of me. In all seven courses, I have a huge group presentation to do. In Human Growth and Development, I took on the role as the contact person. I’m not so good with public speaking, and I wanted to take more of a back seat role. However, I’m finding it very difficult to get a hold of one group member; she has yet to email me back about the meeting dates that I asked everyone to give their opinions on. Luckily, we don’t run a seminar until week 14 and it is only week 5, but I was hoping to have everything organized and out of the way.

For Introduction to Psychology, I have to read and answer questions to a complicated research paper. Tomorrow morning I will meet with my group to go over the answers to the research paper. I haven’t even read the research paper yet; I have been so busy with other things.

This week I have to do a skill assessment with my Helping Relationships group on our counseling skills. I feel as if mine still need improvement, and we go on Thursday. Yikes.

I also have a paper due in both Introduction to Social Services and Community Development; Aboriginal Emphasis, which I have yet to start.

Clearly, I could use this time to catch up. It is terrible that I am already in over my head. I also have not been getting a lot of sleep lately. I’ve been stressed out and worrying about things I shouldn’t be.

So lesson of the day; skip school/work to catch up on things (like sleeping, or in my case; more work).

Leave a Reply

