Good for the soul!

October 1, 2007 at 5:31 pm (blogging, myself & I, rambling, real life, story telling)

I know most people – especially people my age – hate working. It’s a chore. They would rather be anywhere else then at work. Me, I’m completely the opposite. If you go through a period of time where you absolutely aren’t aloud to walk, let alone work, then you begin to enjoy working more when you are able to again.

When you have a medical disability, finding a job that you can actually physically and emotionally do with ease is a rare thing. I have stopped looking for that “ideal” job, not only because I know I would not find it, but because I know that if I did happen to find it, I would not enjoy working there. Even though a job with no physical or emotional demand would be ideal for my body, my mind would not enjoy it. I like the demands of working. I like to push myself to improve in areas that I need to improve in. I love learning new things and meeting new people. I love to push myself beyond my limits, just a little bit, just to prove that I can.

On Friday evening, I got a phone call from the group home that I applied at quite some time ago. To my immense excitement, they want me to come in today at 3:30pm for a “mock shift”. That’s what they call their orientations, I suppose; I’ll get a chance to meet the kids in the group home as well as my co-workers, ask questions, and become more familiar with where everything is. I know this job is going to be a very demanding, stressful job. Working in a group home with developmentally challenged youth has got to be. But I know that I will love it.

In the past, I have had only 3 actual jobs. I worked at Tim Hortons for a year and a half – that job was pretty good. I was in the kiosk in the gas station and barely had to do anything because it was nowhere near as busy as the inside. I literally sat on 2 milk crates reading magazines and doing homework all day – occasionally jumping up to serve a customer with a great big old smile on my face of course. I had to quit that job because of a conflict between a manager and my sister that I got dragged into, plus I had two surgeries coming up. One on my wrist, shoulder, finger and collar bone and one on several spots on my left leg. I was sad to see this job go. It was a lazy teens favourite position; barely doing anything and getting to catch up on the celebrity gossip.

Almost a year after my surgeries, I applied to work at Wendy’s on the opposite side of the highway. It had taken me a long time to get back into the swing of things. Practically all summer! I didn’t start until September, then I quit in late October/early November due to circumstances I went into greater detail in the post Fresh to Order: my fast food experiences.

After that, I didn’t work again until June of this year. That job was at the recreational group for the developmentally challenged. I loved it; my job was to plan and organize events such as; camping trips, day trips, dances and club nights. I was in charge of recruiting enough volunteers to run each event and I did a lot of camping. Not only did I get to usually sit at an office and plan the next camping trip, but while I was camping I had the time of my life. I did have some issues with a couple of co-workers – I was a bit too sensitive and I let things bother me even when I knew I shouldn’t. Halfway through the summer I was regretting applying, but at the last week of camp I realized just how awesome of an opportunity it really was, and I am grateful to have worked there.

So needless to say, I am super excited about getting back to the work force. Not only am I desperate for the money (hey, I’m in college!) but I’m also desperate for the interactions and funny moments that are sure to be had with this job. There is no way I could be in a room full of amazing people and not enjoy myself!

2 Comments

  1. Connie said,

    Congrats hun! You remind me so much of myself at your age. I worked at AHRC – Association for the Help of Retarded Citizens. I did that through high school and parts of college.

    I thought of going into Exceptional Ed but then chose Social Work instead. I’m sure you’re going to love your job.

    Enjoy it and the money you’ll be earning too.

  2. JC said,

    Aw thank you Connie! I won’t be making a lot of money though, I’m only third position staff, but it will be worth it!

Leave a Reply

