A Shout Out

September 26, 2007 at 2:39 pm (myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, reflecting, resources, story telling)

Just yesterday, I stumbled across an amazing blog; A Work Of Art: Raising Our Exceptional Son. In this blog, the father of a very exceptional boy named Ben blogs about their daily life and raising a son with exceptional needs. If you have never heard of this blog, I suggest heading over there right now! It’s a heart warming, touching blog that became one of my immediate favourites. There is something about that little boy, Ben, that makes me smile. Even from just watching the video of him painting, you can tell he is one of a kind. He practically shines with light and love! So go on over and pay a visit!

After reading A Work of Art: Raising Our Exceptional Son, I was re-inspired and wanted to explain my reasons for choosing to be a Social Worker and work with developmentally challenged youth and adults. I know I have briefly mentioned my work at SYG: a recreational group for developmentally challenged youth and adults, but I think it’s time to get a little more into it. I started volunteering at SYG just before my 16th birthday. It changed me for the better. The members at SYG are each amazing and special in their own, individual ways. I became close friends with several of them – nearly all of them. They prove to me again and again that you don’t have to fit society’s opinion of “normal” to be happy.

I spent all of the summer working as a summer student at SYG, and although I saw a bit of the political, ugly side of this non-profit organization, I still love SYG. I loved the summer student job; planning and organizing events for the members, getting enough volunteers to have it run smoothly, and then watching everyone enjoy all of the hard work that was put into each event was truly an amazing feeling. Some of the members only have SYG for their social interactions, so it’s key to make every event matter. Watching them enjoy themselves so much made everything worth while. Planning events and camping weekends isn’t an easy job, but it was more then worth the stress at the last day of the week long camp as I saw everyone dancing and letting loose. Camp was fun, although stressful, because the members make it worth while. Their pure joy and excitement never ceases to amaze me.

That is why I applied for a job at a local group home for developmentally challenged youth and am seriously hoping I get it. My days are made worth while if I surround myself with people who have sparkling, amazing personalities. I am too far away from SYG to attend any of the dances or club nights, but I plan on going to a couple of camping weekends.

I know there are some people in my life who find me amazing because I enjoy working with special needs people, but I really don’t think I am the amazing one. I’m just seeing people for who they are, not the label that was placed on them. People are people, personality shines through anything. I like people with good personalities, I dislike people with bad personalities – regardless of the labels. I fully believe that everyone should get a fair chance and opportunity to be themselves. Nobody is better then anybody else, so nobody should have more chances and opportunities then anybody else. Simply put, we are all equal.

2 Comments

  1. Bennie said,

    JC, I’ve only been able to read about a half-dozen of your posts but you truly are a SPECIAL young lady! I don’t mean “special” in the way one refers to a special needs individual. I mean it in the way that you are going to achieve great things in your life!

    I look forward to getting to know you more in the coming months and years. You are already an inspiration to me and a beacon of hope for today’s young adults!

  2. JC said,

    Awh thank you Bennie! I hope I do achieve great things in my life, and I hope I am able to help others achieve great things in their lives as well!! It’s so nice hearing that I’m an inspiration and beacon of hope for today’s young adults 🙂

Leave a Reply

