Fresh to Order; my fast food experiences

September 25, 2007 at 1:53 pm (helpful tips, myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, reflecting, story telling)

I encountered all types of people when I was working at local fast food restaurants. Impatient people, desperate for their double bacon cheeseburger and unable to offer a smile or thanks when being served. All they do is complain about the line up, about how slow you are working, and about how it’s all your fault the prices of greasy, fattening food went up.

Every single day that I worked in fast food, I happened to have one customer who was completely rude, tactless, and idiotic. These people seriously did not help the fact that those 4 hour shifts killed my body. I cannot stand for long periods of time, but I pushed myself to when I worked in the fast food industries. My managers were not as understanding as they appeared to be when I was first hired, and it seemed like every time I requested a quick break to sit down for a few minutes, they got mad. They were annoyed with me. Customers were annoyed with me because I wasn’t able to work as quickly as they would have liked.

Needless to say, I have always had difficulty finding a job that I could physically and emotionally do. Not a whole heck of a lot of places hire teenagers, so fast food was my only options – especially considering I lived out in the middle of nowhere with no license and the nearest options where only fast food. My parent’s didn’t have the time to drive us further and provide more choices.

In the fast food places I have worked at, it seemed like nobody had the patience to deal with a teen and her medical disability. My co-workers thought I was just being lazy and wanting attention, and sadly enough several of my managers thought this too. I had little respect there, and was a slight mockery. I remember one instance when I fell down the really greasy stairs that lead up to the staff lunch room, several of my co-workers witnessed it and all they could do was laugh. My younger sister had to help regain footing as I had twisted my ankle. I ended up going home because my ankle hurt so badly. All the managers were concerned about was whether or not they had to write an incident report.

My immune system is weaker then most (probably due to the fact that I don’t get nearly as much exercise as I should), so I caught literally everything that floated around that place. If costumers came in with a cold, the next week I would come in with a cold. I also managed to get mono (don’t ask me how, I’m not sure; all I know is my boyfriend was free of it and I don’t kiss anybody else!). Every single time I became sick, it took a while to recover. Sometimes, I had to call in because you shouldn’t work with a contagious virus – you contaminate everything you touch. That’s one of the first things you see in the training videos when they hire you. But this seriously irritated my managers.

My inability to stand for the solid 4 hours and eventually, my inability to complete shifts was noted by everyone. I was removed from the schedule and the manager who hired me asked me if I was even able to continue. She was a little nicer than everyone else about it, and offered to get me a orthopedic mat to stand on during my shifts. By this point, I was sick of the attitudes I was getting from my co-workers and other managers. I was sick of my legs hurting unbearably after every shift. I would go straight home after working 4 hours and sleep for 7. Clearly, this job wasn’t agreeing with me…so I was “quired”. I say “quired” instead of “fired” or “quitting” because it was a mutual agreement; and they had already taken me off of the schedule.

My word of advice to every teen out their with a medical disability looking for work; try fast food. If it works for you, that’s awesome. It didn’t work for me. I had to wait to find a less physically demanding job with a more understanding supervisor and slightly more understanding co-workers. If you find fast food doesn’t work for you (as it didn’t with me), than start looking for other options; such as an office position somewhere. Put those computer skills to good use!

1 Comment

  1. Good for the soul! « A Medical Mystery said,

    […] Almost a year after my surgeries, I applied to work at Wendy’s on the opposite side of the highway. It had taken me a long time to get back into the swing of things. Practically all summer! I didn’t start until September, then I quit in late October/early November due to circumstances I went into greater detail in the post Fresh to Order: my fast food experiences. […]

Leave a Reply

