The Bumpy Bone Book

September 23, 2007 at 6:27 pm (myself & I, opinions, rambling, real life, story telling)

The MHE and Me support group is putting together a book full of art work, essays, stories, and poems by people affected by MHE (whether they have it or have someone in their family with it). I plan on writing a few of my own pieces for the book. In case you haven’t noticed, I have a lot to say.

I am attempting to work on my contributions to The Bumpy Bone Book – since I have a lot of time on my hands – which I should really be using to catch up on my text book readings and study for my Human Growth and Development test, but a chance like this only happens every once and a while!

I think I will write both an essay and a story, and attempt to draw something. A couple of years ago, I used to attend drawing classes. I loved drawing – and still do – but I disliked my drawing style. Still though, drawing gives me something else to think about. I’m really excited about this book!!

Another plan of mine is to become a writer. I have a million story ideas and all I need is the time to sit down and get them all out of my head. I have a very important question for all of you writers out there; what does it take to be successful? There are so many authors and several really good ones go unnoticed. How do you get noticed?

On a completely different note, this weekend was a much deserved distraction from the woes of college life. I was able to go to a benefit dance thrown by a couple of my dad’s friends. It was for one of the guy’s aunts, who recently loss the use of her legs as a result of a surgery. They wanted to raise some money for her so that she would live comfortably. It was really touching, how the Falcons all got together for this sad situation, but its comforting knowing that the Falcons would do anything for each other and their families. I hope they were able to raise enough money for the guy’s aunt! I sort of met her last night, and she was a very classy, spunky looking lady. She looked very happy and strong.

Moments like that – when an entire group of friends come together for support – make me realize that not all kindness and empathy is lost. There is still hope, even if it is sometimes difficult to see.

Leave a Reply

