My Therapeutic Ways of Dealing With a Disability

September 16, 2007 at 4:45 pm (family, helpful tips, myself & I, opinions, rambling)

I’m sure by now the world is wondering how I stay sane. Chronic pain tends to usually results in depression; I don’t want to say I’m 100% not depressed or anything, but I think I handle myself well. I try not to think about the negative things, although it sometimes gets difficult. I also try to keep myself preoccupied and take out frustration on therapeutic, creative outlets, like my writing.

One of my creative writing outlets is my other blog, Sarcastica. In that blog, I attempt to divide my medical woes with my daily woes, so that people aren’t overwhelmed by the thoughts in my head. I’m a sarcastic person, and that’s where I do most of my sarcastic rantings (although I promise to save a couple good ones for this blog too!). I also write stories that I hope to one day get published, but I suppose the first step towards getting something published is to actually finish writing it.

Another of my outlets is the recreational group for developmentally handicapped youth and adults that I’ve been volunteering at for the past several years. Let me tell you, it’s improved my self esteem by a landslide. Before I started volunteering at SYG, I had little self esteem. I tried very hard to hide my MHE by wearing long sleeved clothes and basically keeping it to myself and a small group of friends. Then I started my work as a volunteer, and it felt so good helping someone else, being a part of such a happy, accepting place. I began to come out of my shell, and formed a million friendships that I’ll never forget in my lifetime.

This summer that just past was spent working there, every day. I saw the political, ugly side of SYG, fought with a couple of my co-workers, and generally had a stressful summer. My job – along with four others – was to plan the summertime events and camping trips. Program planning takes a lot of thought and planning, and sometimes when your ideas aren’t heard it makes things difficult and tense. But looking back, I wouldn’t change a thing. I still had a wonderful time because of the members, and the work was rewarding. I was able to watch everyone enjoy themselves at every event.

As you can see, there are several of my creative outlets of dealing with things. Another therapeutic way of dealing with a disability is having a great support team, my family is amazing. Although they don’t know exactly what I’m going through, they still feel my pain and are still there for me. Thanks family!

2 Comments

  1. Shutting Down When Things Get Rough « A Medical Mystery said,

    […] an earlier post, I stated that it is very helpful to have a strong support group. I was liking my new group of “friends” because with them I was able to be normal for a […]

  2. A Shout Out « A Medical Mystery said,

    […] to be a Social Worker and work with developmentally challenged youth and adults. I know I have briefly mentioned my work at SYG: a recreational group for developmentally challenged youth and adults, but I think […]

Leave a Reply

